Mazda3 Forums banner

2009 2.5L swap - Newb Questions & Follow along

13K views 37 replies 6 participants last post by  xtnct 
#1 · (Edited)
I have committed to a 2.5L swap into my 2009 2.3L manual hatch. Reason for needing an engine is here: https://www.mazda3forums.com/122-stock-issues/766546-oil-filter-cap-failure-leads-seized-engine.html

I sourced a 2012 2.5L from an Escape. I am trying to follow along various DYI's but given that I am not a mechanic some things are over my head. I did brakes, oil changes, suspension, a singe cam swap once on a Golf, but never did any tranny, engine removals, clutches or other engine work. Hoping there are more experienced folks that can help out.

I am using the following resources as the roadmap (No particular order). KUDOS and Thanks to the folks before me. I would not have attempted this if it was not for these fantastic people that documented their knowledge for others.

http://www.happywrenching.com/mazda/6/mazda-6-and-ford-fusion-23l-engine-swap.html
https://www.mazda3forums.com/61-powertrain-2004-2009-mazda3/758761-tonyguns-2-5-swap-experience.html
https://www.mazda3forums.com/61-pow...a3/764362-2-3-2-5-lessons-learned-2019-a.html
https://www.mazda3forums.com/61-powertrain-2004-2009-mazda3/692793-how-mazda-ford-2-5l-swap.html
https://www.mazda3forums.com/61-pow...3/764604-2007-mazda-3-2-5l-swap-question.html
https://www.mazda3forums.com/61-powertrain-2004-2009-mazda3/647562-04-2-3l-swap-2-5l-successful.html
https://www.mazda3forums.com/123-modifications/587650-06-2-3l-10-2-5-engine-swap.html

My notes on Engine removal:
  • Entire front end is unbolted - went ok. Some don't do it but I decided I wanted the extra working room. Already paid for itself dealing with all the coolant hoses and electrical clips under the Intake manifold.
  • Removal of the coolant hoses -> bit of work as the hose dries onto the plastic ends....I damaged one of the hoses trying to get it off :(