Mazda3 Forums banner

Ah yes, another newbie with another broken MZ3

14K views 37 replies 7 participants last post by  Miljack 
#1 ·
So, I'm a newbie here despite having been signed up for...what, almost 9 years? Yikes...

2006 MZ3 hatchback manual. Around 70,xxx miles. We've owned it since 9000 miles. Has Mazdaspeed exhaust, replaced motor mounts some time ago, converted to spin on oil filter, but otherwise stock.

Hooned the car last night. Went drifting around in a gravel parking lot to prove to my wife that you cannot do any effective e-brake maneuvers with her car. You CAN however bang against the rev limiter for 20 seconds at full left hand crank with the car whipping around. Lots of fun, drove the block home with a clanging engine. :angry:

Doesn't appear to have a lose of power. Clanging is quiet at idle, louder and faster as the car revs. No CEL, no smoke, no overheating. Pulled coil pack connectors, 2-4 all dropped idle to a lop as expected, #1 made a worse clanging sound, clearly a #1 cylinder issue (I assume #1 is furthest passenger/left side, closest to the pulleys). Car still idled when 2-4 was removed, which I wouldn't expect if #1 was actually blowing air (bent valve, busted piston, etc). It's not a VVT type tapping sounds, we've had one of those intake butterfly/valve tapping issues for a year, this is clanging, engine internal type noise.

Wife drove to work today, other than the noise didn't report any change in drivability.

I will try to drive the car tonight and get Torque on the code reader for some info. This weekend will pull the plugs, check the oil, and dig around a bit.

What else to look for? Would a video help anyone give ideas? As much as it seems like valvetrain noise, I would expect either a CEL or drop in power or poor idle or something.

I am fully capable of digging into this engine and have most things needed for a full engine rebuild at my disposal right now.

Thanks all!

See less See more
#3 ·