What Camera Do You Use? + a quick Review of it - FMVperformance.com : The site for all your Ford Mazda and Volvo needs
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-15-2006, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 3,082
Send a message via AIM to AuxOne
What Camera Do You Use? + a quick Review of it

What type of camera do you use to take pics of your rides or anything else to post here and everywhere else?

Include: Model / Brand / and a link to it on the manufacturers site if ya can find one.

Just wondering cause im in the market for a good digital.. The one I used for all the pics up until yesterday that I posted was...

Polaroid i532RC - 5MP - http://polaroid.com/global/detail.js...bmLocale=en_US

I was happy with this except for night shots where not all that great and it was slow. Took it back yesterday and got a

Fujifilm FinePix a600 - 6.3MP - http://www.fujifilm.us/JSP/fuji/epar...vBarId=I844730

Very unhappy with this one had it for less then 24 hours. The polaroid had features as buttons on the camera that where simple and easy to use... this camera however you have to browse through menus to find what you want and even with the book as reference figure out what button to use to choose the options you want.
AuxOne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-15-2006, 09:19 PM Thread Starter
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 3,082
Send a message via AIM to AuxOne
Re: What Camera Do You Use? + a quick Review of it

I just bought a camera online the

Canon PowerShot S3 IS - 6MP - http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...uct_id=4756536

I hope this thing was worth the 350 bux - will have it by the end of the week and i will post a review about it.
AuxOne is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-15-2006, 09:52 PM
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 7,739
Re: What Camera Do You Use? + a quick Review of it

The S3 IS should be worth every penny of that $350. If you don't need to fit it into your pocket, you're going to love it.

Personally, I've owned a Canon A40 (gave it to my sister) and A610 (R.I.P.). Both took beautiful pictures and had all the features and options I could ever want at the time.
A610: For night time photos where there is some light, 15 seconds was enough to get decent shots. The photos were clean, clear, sharp, and vivid. It also has a very useful tilt-and-swivel LCD screen. Great for taking pictures of yourself or taking pictures at weird angles (like above your head and looking down or around a corner). It also takes beautiful video clips up to the size of the SD memory card at 320x240 or 640x480. It also takes pictures up 2.5fps.

I keep recommending the Canon Powershot A series because they are very user-friendly. Most functions are accessible with a few button clicks. Most common functions have their own buttons. You can shoot full auto and get beautiful pictures or take more control with one of the other shooting modes. If you're budget is around $200 then I'd recommend the A610 as prices have gone down since the A630/A640 have been released.

Review of the A620: http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canona620/
A610 is essentially the same minus 2 MP. Link to A610 info: http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/spec...canon_a610.asp


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sbmonkey is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-16-2006, 12:23 AM
Le Mans: Prototype Class
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,732
Send a message via AIM to ViperKillerWannabe
Re: What Camera Do You Use? + a quick Review of it

We sell the S3 IS where I work and it's my favorite of the still cameras we sell. The only reason I don't own one yet is because I just dumped $400 on a camcorder a few weeks ago.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2005 Sunlight Silver Metallic 3s
ViperKillerWannabe is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-16-2006, 01:36 AM
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cedar Park-San Marcos, Texas
Posts: 6,897
Send a message via AIM to scismic
Re: What Camera Do You Use? + a quick Review of it

I got the Canon A620 since 12/7/05 and I love it. I took over 5700 pics since then. The pics came out sharp and clean. The videos are awesome and the menus are easy to use. I used it for all the meets that we have and the pics and vids came out good. I love how it came with manual controls that you can play around with or go auto.

Here's some that I took when I went to St. Louis.

http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.php?topic=55262.0


Manufacturer Link : http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/co...;modelid=12072


I'm using the A620 soon for just videos and maybe if I just want a light P&S. I just ordered the 30D


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
scismic is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-16-2006, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 9,451
Re: What Camera Do You Use? + a quick Review of it

Olympus OM-1 35mm SLR with 50mm f/1.8, 135mm f/3.5, 50mm f/3.5 macro, and 28-80mm f/3.5 macro zoom lens. Works really really well, though I wish I had a decent tripod and a 70-200mm zoom lens and a 21mm ultra-wide angle lens, but I will get those eventually.

There is something to be said for all of the cameras controls at your finger tips and no menus (crap, this thing didn't even know what an LCD was when it was made in '73).
-Matt

PS It was a hand-me down from my parents who bought it the year after they got married. Since I received the camera I pretty much ignored it until the last 6 months or so in which time I ended up getting the 28-80mm zoom off ebay and being lots of photography work with it. If you are ever in the market for a 35mm SLR instead of a digital, look out for an OM body (either one of the older all mechanical ones like the OM-1/OM-3, or some of the auto focus versions with the OM-2(n), OM-4.
azazel1024 is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-18-2006, 02:37 PM Thread Starter
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 3,082
Send a message via AIM to AuxOne
Re: What Camera Do You Use? + a quick Review of it

Got my cam today this thing is bad ass heh.. Crazy functions / Super Clear pics!..



woot now i gotta buy a memory card .. guess ill get that 4gb one from sonystyle.com
AuxOne is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-18-2006, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 9,451
Re: What Camera Do You Use? + a quick Review of it

What format and ISO where you shooting at for that pic? I don't mean to be a jerk, because I like canon's products, but there is a lot of color noise in that picture. Was it a high compression JPEG and/or really high ISO?

Right now I am looking at getting a cannon A530 for my fiance so she/we can have a small point & shoot to stick in her/our pocket for the honeymoon as a 'backup' camera and for times when we need to carry a small camera (like biking)
-Matt
azazel1024 is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-18-2006, 02:44 PM Thread Starter
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 3,082
Send a message via AIM to AuxOne
Re: What Camera Do You Use? + a quick Review of it

i just took it outta the box and pressed the on button set the time and shot the pic no clue what the settings where thats right outta the box settings.
AuxOne is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-18-2006, 04:48 PM
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Iowa
Posts: 12,421
Re: What Camera Do You Use? + a quick Review of it

Film Cameras
Canon Rebel Ti - 35mm SLR - Built in Flash
My only film body that I have and it works pretty well. I only use this camera for black and white photography but so far it has been easy to work with. If youre looking for a cheap way to get into SLR film is a good way to go.


Digital Cameras
Olympus C-740UZ - 3.2Mpx - XD Media - Built in Flash ISO 64-400
As my first "nice" digital camera I found this camera to take excellent photos at a great price. Many settings available on this camera that alllow for completely control. The 10X optical zoom was a huge reason I went with this camera.

Canon EOS 10D 6.3Mpx DSLR - Compact Flash Media - Built in Flash ISO 100-1600
Love this camera, offers tons of options for lenses and the settings are easily changed, if you can find one in good condition used, I highly recommend it.

Canon EOS 350D 8.2-8.0EffectiveMpx - Compact Flash Media - Built in Flash - ISO 100-1600
This was my first DSLR and although the size is great and it takes excellent photos, I am not a huge fan of the menu system in use. The menus in the 10D and 20D and other higher level DSLR provide a huge advantage for quick settings changes. However for the home user this is an excellent entry into the DSLR world.

Canon EOS 20D 8.2Mpx - Compact Flash Media - Built in Flash - ISO 100-1600
This camera is a dream. The quality of photos is excellend and settings are never more than thumbs reach aways. This camera is a joy to use and if you can find one for a good price I highly recommend it.

Of course most of these cameras are useless without lenses but you get the point..


Sample from 20D
Love this camera
mz3szoomzoom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FMVperformance.com : The site for all your Ford Mazda and Volvo needs > Misc > Lounge

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the FMVperformance.com : The site for all your Ford Mazda and Volvo needs forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome